Committee of the Year

The Committee of the Year is awarded to a Junior League of Tampa Committee based on their accomplishments throughout the year, impact on the League or in the community, and their cohesiveness as a committee. Any committee nominated for Committee of the Month is eligible. The winner is announced at Annual Dinner.

Congratulations to the 2018-2019 Committee of the Year Public Affairs, chaired by Melanie Brown and Maggie McCleland

Public Affairs Committee of the Year awarded by The Junior League of Tampa

The Public Affairs Committee advocates for issues related to The Junior League of Tampa’s Mission and helps JLT members stay informed on important legislative issues. This year they expanded their reach to serve the broader community and earning the title of Committee of the Year.

The Public Affairs Committee is responsible for the ACTIVATE813 initiative. What started as a small idea to promote voter education during the election year, was transformed into a larger movement building civic engagement. The committee collaborated with other community organizations, hosting several candidate meet and greet events, voter registration drives and a robust social media campaign.

The committee’s work on ACTIVATE813 and their extensive advocacy on behalf of women and children in Hillsborough County, has made our community stronger. We are excited to see how the 2019-2020 committee grows this legacy even more.

Previous Committee of the Year Award Recipients 

2011-2012 – Cookbook

2012-2013 – Provisional Education

2013-2014 – Public Relations & Marketing

2014-2015 – Fundraising

2015-2016 – Provisional Education

2016-2017 – Sustainer

2017-2018 – Holiday Gift Market