Inspiring Leader Award

This award is given to a Chair who inspires and motivates her committee and other members she works with throughout the year. She consistently lives the League Mission, and her leadership in the League is thoughtful and innovative. The winner is announced at Annual Dinner.

Congratulations to Diana Hechavarria, the 2019-2020 Inspiring Leader of the Year!


Diana lead the MILO (Mobile Interactive Literacy Opportunity) Committee this year and took the committee to new heights. Working with a large committee, she engaged her team to serve the community with new events, expanding the lending library initiative, and making literacy fun.

Diana’s ability to see and lead a project to the next level, will serve her well as she joins the Executive Board in 2020-2021 as the Strategic Planning Director.


Previous Inspiring Leader Award Recipients 

2005 – Betsy Graham

2006 – Christina Boe

2006 – Laura Hobby

2007 – Julie Byrd

2008 – Clara Reynolds

2009 – Jennifer Johnson Sober

2010 – Jessica Kendall

2011 – Nicole Hubbard

2012 – Suzy Mendelson

2013 – Denise Schultz

2014 – Jenny Spencer

2015 – Melissa Knight Nodhturft

2016 – Isabel Dominicis Dewey

2017 – Meghan McGuire

2018 – Maggie McCleland