Sustainer of the Year Award

The Sustainer of the Year Award is presented to a Sustainer who has shown outstanding volunteer service in a community service organization or through community service over a significant number of years after the age of forty.

Sustainer of the Year 2015-2016: Mary Lee Farrior

Farrior photo-approved

Child advocate. Community volunteer. Innovator.

Mary Lee Farrior truly defines the term “giving spirit”. She leads by example – she has dedicated herself and motivated others around her to improve the lives of children. Her influence throughout the community and the state is evident in the change she has generated.

Mary Lee joined The Junior League of Tampa in 1963 and quickly became involved. She often served on multiple committees at once in a variety of leadership levels. She acquired a vast knowledge of our city and the critical issues facing our community during this time which guided her volunteer efforts for years to come. As a Sustainer, she continued her community involvement by serving numerous agencies as a volunteer, contributor and Board Member. Her list of honors and accolades is lengthy, but her proudest accomplishment is the founding of Mary Lee’s House; a child advocacy and protection center which houses multiple services in one location and promotes the collaboration of professionals from all areas of child protection.

A tireless advocate for children, Mary Lee is a true treasure and embodies the spirit of the League’s Sustainer of the Year award. Living every day with grace, commitment, and grit, her impact within the community and her family will live on for generations to come.


Sustainer of the Year Honorees

1970  Sylvia Corral Vega (Mrs. C.C., Jr.)
1971  Georgia Cornelius MacDonald (Mrs. Clifford)
1972  Madeline Pasqual Gibbons (Mrs. Arthur)
1973  Jane Hughey Hewit (Mrs. Linus W. )
1974  Louise Lykes Ferguson (Mrs. Chester)
1975  Martha Sale Ferman (Mrs. James L.)
1976  Elizabeth Whidden Himes (Mrs. John R.)
1977  Nancy Torbett Ford (Mrs. Charles E., Jr.)
1978  Helen Ayala Davis (Mrs. Sam F.)
1979  Catherine Ortmeyer Healy (Mrs. Charles T.)
1980  Lois Wilson Garrett (Mrs. Preston)
1981  Nancy Lee Woods McKay (Mrs. Herbert)
1982  Cecile Lee Burnett (Mrs. J. Mac)
1983  Ruthanne Padgett McLean (Mrs. W.C., Jr.)
1984  Jean Ann Ramsdell Cone (Mrs. Douglas P.)
1985  Susan Sossamon Bulger (Mrs. William W.)
1986  Ann Lowry Murphey (Mrs. David III)
1987  Joanne Hecker Frazier (Mrs. J. Warren)
1988  Isabelle Swift Ferrell (Mrs. Marshall)
1989  Mia Carnariis Hardcastle (Mrs. Ken)
1990  Wynette Howell (Mrs. A. Clewis)
1991  Barbara Barritt Romano (Mrs. Jack)
1992  Stephanie Mills Chapman
1993  Rosemary Harris Henderson
1994  Stella Ferguson Thayer (Mrs. Bronson)
1995  Patricia T. Daley (Mrs. Thomas)
1996  Cecelia Davis Ferman (Mrs. James L., Jr.)
1997  Sally Lowry Baldwin (Mrs. Walter, Jr.)
1998  Sylvia “Nootchie” Vega Smith (Mrs. H. Vance)
1999  Betty Hall Wood (Mrs. G. Pierce, Jr.)
2000  Lora Warren Hulse (Mrs. David)
2001  Joan Hendrick McKay (Mrs. Howell)
2002  Cody Fowler Davis
2003  Betsy Barron Stagg (Mrs. Lawrence)
2004  Adele Marsicano Clarke (Mrs. Richard)
2005  Martha Robbins Hall (Mrs. Laurence)
2006  Mary Frost Feingold (Mrs. Mark Feingold)
2007  Sally Shapard Hill (Mrs. Lewis, III)
2008  Frances Hyer Reynolds (Mrs. William H.)
2009  Judy Lawson (Mrs. John R. Lawson Jr.)
2010  Sarah Jane Rubio (Mrs. Mauricio)
2011  Helen Robbie Williams (Mrs. W. L. Williams, Sr.)
2012  Joy Robinson Bell (Mrs. Lem Bell)
2013  Harrison Flynn Giddens (Mrs. Thomas Giddens)
2014  Robin Robson Gonzalez (Mrs. Thomas M. Gonzalez)
2015  Cynthia Daley Coney (Mrs. Anthony Coney)
2016 Mary Lee Nunnally Farrior